Session 3

I used to be a tour guide at Natural Bridge Caverns, the job was hard: long hours, minimum wage, public speaking, etc. The tours are scheduled by color, the color on your ticket matches the tour you would be on. I remember one particular day when I already had a sold out tour (50 guests) and small children. We announce the tour color at least twice before we start our decent into the sinkhole and again before we collect tickets at the entrance of the cavern. While collecting tickets I had a large family with the wrong color, they were scheduled to be on the tour after mine, and I was already responsible for over 50 people and could not allow more on my tour. The response the family gave me when I told them they were on the next tour was how were they supposed to know which tour they were on and that it was my fault for not making it clear to them what the color on their ticket meant and I had to fix the system. I could not just let them tag along because I have to watch and count everyone in each small room to make sure I didn’t loose anyone and was able to control the crowd. I was upset that a family yelled at me in front of my tour for something that was out of my control. I almost cried several times during my tour and was unable to give the best tour possible because I let what that family said to me ruin the rest of my day. That time is one of the many reasons why I no longer work at Natural Bridge.

Leave a comment