Session Three: Boo Murray

Last summer I was a waiter at a Mexican restaurant called Uncle Julio’s down in Katy. It was just a nice summer job working with my friends learning to wait tables. During mid summer we got a new random manager hire from the Austin store: she knew how to run the store,but ours was ran very differently than hers. So, through out the two weeks she was there everyone was getting very fed up with how she was treating us. Then one day it started storming and I was scheduled to work outside, meaning that no one was going to sit outside and I would waste a bunch of time. I called in and she said I still had to come into work, so from right there I was already annoyed. I knew i was gonna go through the effort of changing and driving there and running through the rain to make no money have no tables waste an hour and then head home. Of course, once I got there that’s exactly what happened I got one table and just did nothing, but complained. I don’t know if y’all know this, but if you don’t get a table after two hours we were allowed to walk out. So, I gave away the two tables I got in hopes to be able to leave and not waste my time. Naturally, I ended up getting sat and since I didn’t treat them well I ended up getting a horrible tip too. It was my response to everything going on that made me stay and get stiffed, so after a while I realized I’m not going home anytime soon and perked up a bit. The restaurant went crazy, so many people waiting to get sat: I ended up making the most money in one day that night, because I was forced to stay and changed my attitude. My response to everything going on around me directly affected how my day went and the response of others around me.

Leave a comment